Daily Prompt: Five Items – Desert Island Discs

So for today’s Daily Prompt: Five Items I am going to take the Desert Island Discs approach, however expanding out to all forms of media, so there will be a book, an album, a television series, a movie and a videogame:

  • Terry Pratchett’s book “Feet of Clay” – This is the first book from the Discworld series that I ever read and invovles my personal favourite of Terry’s creations, the recently promoted Commander Vimes (Feet of Clay follows on from Guards Guards which features Vimes’s wedding and promotion at the end). Vimes falls into the category of old school policeman, much in a similar vein to some of TV’s most notable detectives like Inspector Morse and Detective Frost. Vimes is never regarded as “the sharpest knife in the drawer” yet his gum shoe approach to police work and unfailingly cynical view of the world means he always gets his man.
  • Pendulum’s album”Hold Your Colour” – Fantastic album and by a long margin my favourite – The first time I ever saw them performing live was when they were touring for this album back in 2005. Whilst I have seen them a few more time since they have never matched the excitement of that first gig for me. Their energy on stage was fantastic and the showmanship meant that what could have just been a refectory full of people (The gig was held in the dining room at the University of Leeds , capacity 2100)
  • Doctor Who Series four – David Tennant and Catherine Tate – This was definitely my favourite series of the new incarnation of Doctor Who. It features the return of Catherine Tate to the role of Donna Noble. She brought a refreshing change to the Doctor’s companion, moving away from someone being enthralled by the him to a character who will happily put him in his place. (slaps and putdowns galore throughout the series)
  • Christopher Nolan’s Batman: The Dark Knight – The second part of an excellent trilogy from Christopher Nolan, and the best of the three in my opinion. This installment features the rise of the Joker (played by the late Heath Ledger) and the mayhem he causes around Gotham whilst he sticks to his principles:                                                          “Upset the established order, and everything becomes chaos. I’m an agent of chaos. Oh, and you know the thing about chaos? It’s fair!”
  • Westwood Studios’s “Dune 2” – Based on the world renowned Dune series by author Frank Herbert, this game helped give rise to the entire genre of RTS games. I remember first playing Dune 2 with my father back in the 90’s and it sparked a passion within me for RTS games – After Dune 2 Westwood studios were responsible for bringing the massively popular Command and Conquer series to our PC’s, and I know I can remember whiling away many an evening with various games from that series.

So that is my list of essential desert island media. Let me know what you think or what your five would be.

Take it easy guys and gals

Lucas Goon

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Daily Prompt, Doctor Who, Reviews
One comment on “Daily Prompt: Five Items – Desert Island Discs
  1. I like your choice of Doctor Who series four, as it took me a long time to learn to really like Donna, and then she was the one who seemed to make a case for the independent companion. And one of my favorite episodes is the what-if alternate history “Turn Left”.

Leave a Reply

All new content is posted on Twitter so please follow me for updates. @Luca5goon

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

