Daily Prompt – Source of anxiety – Interviews

Anxiety

Anxiety has it’s origins within our hardwired reflexes – that instinct for fight or flight when danger is present. Whilst our world has evolved over the years this instinct has stayed constant – always there when we need it.

I seem to be one of the fortunate few for whom anxiety does not form part of day to day life. I certainly do not have the most lavish of lifestyle and have to earn my keep yet the day to day grind does not leave my palms shaking, nor my head aching.

However if there is one things that makes me nervous it is interviews. That point where you are waiting to be called in to talk to these strangers who want to grill you about every aspect of your life. I used to dread that it, but after hearing some feedback from an interview a couple of years back I found out that the nerves had been working in my favour – We only get nervous when we truly care about something and the interviewer had picked up on that and decided that out of a few candidates with the same skills and experience on paper, I was who they wanted because I cared.

That does leave me with a slight catch 22 for interviews now though – I seem to have overcome my anxiety so that does mean I have lost my edge in interviews?

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/12/09/source-of-anxiety/

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Daily Prompt

Leave a Reply

All new content is posted on Twitter so please follow me for updates. @Luca5goon

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

