Apathy. If no one cares, there’s no problem. – Daily Prompt: You’re a Mean One, Mr. Grinch |

Apathy is a lack of interest or concern, especially regarding matters of general importance or appeal, or in more general terms it is indifference.

Now I appreciate that it is not possible for everyone else in the world to subscribe to the same issues that I believe to be important – however that should not be used as a license for them to dismiss what I say as unimportant –  I had this happen to me just yesterday, I was at work investigating a task that had not been completed correctly and every avenue of review that I used hit the same brick wall, with the individuals concerned claiming no knowledge of the task whatsoever and showing a distinct lack of interest in bringing the issue to a close.

When I finally got to the bottom of the problem 90 minutes later, it turns out that the very first I had spoken to had mis-assigned the task, something he could have told me the first time round had he been bothered to investigate the issue properly, and not wasted 90 minutes of my day.

So this is my biggest pet peeve with others – With myself I would say that I have a tendancy to not think my plans through – rather than fully planning something out I will just forge on ahead without the preparation – mainly because there is more fun to be had that way with the risk of the unknown, although this has got me into trouble on several occations. Once I ended up 300 miles away from home, with just £3 in my pocket and half a sandwich in my bag. (I made it home in the end thankfully but I did almost resort to sleeping in a ditch at one point but thankfully that was a plan I thought through. :P)

So to all those out there battling with the apathy of today’s society, I can feel your pain, but the following quotes should cheer you up and remind you that that those who choose not to care do so at thier own risk.

“Human beings make life so interesting. Do you know, that in a universe so full of wonders, they have managed to invent boredom.” – Terry Prattchet, Hogfather

“Elections belong to the people.  It’s their decision.  If they decide to turn their back on the fire and burn their behinds, then they will just have to sit on their blisters.” – Abraham Lincoln

Related articles:

Daily Prompt: You’re a Mean One, Mr. Grinch | The Daily Post.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Daily Prompt
3 comments on “Apathy. If no one cares, there’s no problem. – Daily Prompt: You’re a Mean One, Mr. Grinch |
  1. AirportsMadeSimple says:

    Hi there – here’s a good one you might appreciate: “If there’s nothing wrong in the world, there wouldn’t be anything for us to do.” George Bernard Shaw Heh heh

    I totally understand your frustration. I wish people would just own it and move on.

    Oh! I thought of a blog of a friend of mine you might like: It’s “fasab.wordpress.com” – The “fasab” (wait for it) stands for “Fight Against Stupidity and Bureaucracy.” 🙂 And, if you need an AWESOME hilarious movie to watch this holiday season, watch “The Heat” with Melissa McCarthy. Happy holidays!!!

Leave a Reply

All new content is posted on Twitter so please follow me for updates. @Luca5goon

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

