Memories of Colour

Colour can provide a lot information and context – but in our multicultural society we must be careful – colours do not have the same meaning around the world. For example green used to be associated with Fertility and Sexuality in Europe (The Green Knight and The Green Man for example), yet now the context is usually to refer to someone of inexperience (A greenhorn – a raw recruit).

Certain shades of colour can be as evocative as smells – the particular shade that reminds you of a loved one, or a place visited. Here are some of mine:

Violet – My fiance’s favorite colour – I cannot help but think of her whenever I see it. πŸ˜€

Indigo – The colour of my Dad’s RAF uniform – A source of integrity and strength for me.

Blue – The Sea – I love just throwing myself in and seeing what happens. πŸ˜›

Green – Garnets are green, the gemstone for my birthday. Garnet, derived from the word granatum, means seed, and is called so because the gemstone looks like a pomegranate seed.

Yellow – The exact shade of the sand on Ascension Island in the Atlantic – a sun drenched little island that is the waypoint for flights from the UK down to the Falklands. I was lucky enough to be able to spend a week on the island and loved every second of it. With very little pollution and empty beaches the island was a little bit of paradise.

Orange – Any orange colour reminds me of fire – As a bit of a pyromania I do find it hard to walk away from anything involving flames and the colour orange.

Red – Red XIII from Final Fantasy 7 – So not strictly a colour although he is red. πŸ˜› To this day FF7 is my favorite game from the series and Red XIII one of my favorite characters – How can you not love a red, tattooed lion who can kick everyone’s ass.

So, these are some of the things that colours bring to mind for me, but what about you? Which colours are most evocative for you?

Daily Prompt: Roy G. Biv | The Daily Post.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

All new content is posted on Twitter so please follow me for updates. @Luca5goon

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

