The Outsiders

“The duke had a mind that ticked like a clock and, like a clock, it regularly went cuckoo.” – Terry Pratchett Wryd Sisters

Whilst I would not say I am a complete outsider I do find myself trying to squeeze into a round hole when I am clearly a square peg. Here are just some of the signs I see in my everyday life:

  • My humor is slightly offbeat and I frequently find myself laughing when no one else does, which leaves me with that nagging feeling that maybe I shouldn’t be laughing, but I do anyway.
  • With a lot of trends I tend to be at least a year or so behind. Take smartphones for example – I didn’t get one until about 2 years ago, a good 10 years after the first true smart phones were coming on the market.
  • I often get into misunderstandings because I have interpreted what people say very differently to what they meant.

One of the axioms I live by is “If you don’t ask, you don’t get”. Now whilst this has got me into trouble in the past I would say overall it has been of more benefit than a hindrance. It does tend to earn me a disapproving glare from my fiance when it crops up though. Terry Pratchett sums it up well in his novel The Truth:

“There are, it has been said, two types of people in the world. There are those who, when presented with a glass that is exactly half full, say: this glass is half full. And then there are those who say: this glass is half empty. The world belongs, however, to those who can look at the glass and say: What’s up with this glass? Excuse me? Excuse me? This is my glass? I don’t think so. My glass was full! And it was a bigger glass!”

Yet I am proud of my differences. They are what make me stand out from the rest. How many people do you know who enjoy the odd game of blind chess? A good mental challenge although it does tend to get tricky a few moves in. 😛

So if you ever find yourself look in from the outside just remind yourself that it is our differences that defines us, and if we were all the same then the world would be an incredibly dull place.

Daily Prompt: The Outsiders | The Daily Post.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Daily Prompt, L5GN

Leave a Reply

All new content is posted on Twitter so please follow me for updates. @Luca5goon

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

