10 Simple Things That Will Make You Happier, Backed By Science

Had a link posted to me on Facebook and thought I would share it with you all. It certainly has some good ideas and I believe all ten are things anyone can put into practice. Here they are:

  1. Exercise more – 7 mins does the trick – Thankfully I have the benefit of owning a dog who gets two long walks off me each day so no problem there.
  2. Sleep more – leads to being less sensitive to negative emotions – The jury is still out on this one for me – I have never been a massive sleeper myself but I can think of a few people I know who this will appeal to. 😛
  3. Move closer to work – a short commute is better than a big house – I know I recently changed jobs and cut my daily commuting time down from 2 hours a day to just half an hour and it has certainly done a lot to improve my mood.
  4. Spend more time with friends and family – don’t regret it on your deathbed. The thing to remember is that you don’t have to physically be with your loved ones to spend time with them – the rise of the internet means you can still keep current and engage with family members even if they have flung themselves around the world.
  5. Go outside – Happiness maximised at 13.9°C – a 20 minute stroll is all you need to feel the benefit on this – the fresh air gets your brain working and the increased oxygen levels always cheer me up.
  6. Help others – 2 hours a week is the optimum – Speaks for itself in my opinion – the satisfaction and feel good factor of helping others always does it for me.
  7. Practice smiling – can ease pain – Not so sure about the science on this one – I have always had trouble smiling unless I genuinely got something to smile about – there are plenty of school photo’s with me grimacing because I have never been able to easily pose for a smiling photo. 😛
  8. Plan a trip but don’t take one – This is not a new one on me – My partner and I are always musing on where we could go next time we go away – the planning and anticipation are half the fun.
  9. Meditate – Rewire your brain for happiness – Mediation allows you to de-clutter your mind thus making it easier to focus on the positives in your life.
  10. Practice Gratitude – increase both happiness and life satisfaction – This can help you keep everything in perspective – It can be so easy just to focus on the negatives in your life – but the suggestion here is if you keep a track of everything your are thankful each day then it helps keep the focus on the positive and remind us that whilst there are bad points in our lives, it could be much worse.

If you want to see the full article please see here – 10 Simple Things You Can Do Today That Will Make You Happier, Backed By Science |.

Some good points and I will be doing my best to keep them in mind – might even make them up into some wall stickers to prompt me each day.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in L5GN, Technology

Leave a Reply

All new content is posted on Twitter so please follow me for updates. @Luca5goon

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

