Redo from Start!

So often in life we wish we could “do-over”. On here it’s easy, with the delete key within finger reach when you don’t like what you’ve written. Even Hex from Terry Pratchett’s Discworld gets to restart when it wants:

+++Mr. Jelly! Mr. Jelly!+++
+++Error At Address: 14, Treacle Mine Road, Ankh-Morpork+++
+++MELON MELON MELON+++
+++Divide By Cucumber Error. Please Reinstall Universe And Reboot +++
+++Whoops! Here Comes The Cheese! +++
+++Oneoneoneoneoneoneone+++

Yet enter the real world and our do-overs are usually limited to the unimportant things in life – If you screw up that deal breaker of an interview then that’s it, game over man! But even with the benefits of hindsight I would not change what I have done – because to have done it any other way would not have been to do it my way. The path I have walked to get here is what makes me who I am.

Einstein made an interesting observation on repetition:

“Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.”

Yet this view seems to have been directly contradicted by the world of IT today, where everything revolves around iteration. You call up any IT helpdesk and the first thing they will usually ask you is “Have you tried it again, Sir?” And almost all solutions will involve restarting you machine.

The worlds of popular music and film have adopted an ever-growing culture of repetition (You only have to look at the number of sequels, remakes and remixes in the film and music industries to see what I mean) I wonder whether we are destined for monotony? Is there a finite amount of inspiration to be had? An interesting question, but one I not am sure I know how to answer.

Daily Prompt: I Did it My Way | The Daily Post.

Posted in L5GN

Leave a Reply

All new content is posted on Twitter so please follow me for updates. @Luca5goon

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

